Question about general game architecture using this game engine

Prit

Hello, I’m new to the game development scene biggrin.png. However not new to programming, I am currently on a work placement, however going back in September to complete my final year to achieve a degree in computer science.

Well that’s my background done. For my final year I wish to make a 3D network game. Reason for this is I do wish to pursue a career in game development. (My current work placement is cooperate development).

I have a few questions and seek a bit of advice and would really appreciate your answers and insights.

I have purchased the standard edition as I wish to code in C++.

My questions are generally about the architecture of a game; say for example I was to make a network game pong. I have made this in unity but it felt a bit messy, maybe it was just the way I was taught or just the way game development is.

The whole idea of just attaching scripts to game objects instead of having dedicated modules/subsystems to handle these things confuses me. I’m not sure how I would document that into a class diagram or sequence diagram at all.

The way it would work in my head would be something like this (Close layered):

2jcge9.png

However most game engines seem to attach input and graphics all into one game object.. which makes me wonder how you would you plan out the architecture like that.

Many thanks in advance sorry for the long post (I don’t usually post on forums).

I am looking for answers more relevant to this game engine if possible and how you would plan games architecture around it.

If you were using Lua then you'd basically do the same thing as Unity. However it sounds like you are using C++ (which also allows Lua so you could do the same thing but if you want to use pure C++).

Go get a copy of RakNet and use that for the multiplayer aspect.